Westminster, Day One

Captain Crunch aka Capi

What an exciting opening night of the Westminster Dog Show. Pablo was snuggled between Grandma and me as we watched the first four groups parade around the arena. I didn’t have a favorite for the first group up, the Hounds (although the basset was mighty cute), but I picked the winner for the next three! (As proof I have my twitter account. I tweated my pick during the commercial break before the judge announced the winner.) FYI–a wire-haired dachshund won the group (the only bitch among last night’s winners), thrilling my mother, a dachshund groupie.

For the toy group, I fell in love with Malachy the Peke, last year’s winner and still the same amazing regal ball of fur. I know, isn’t the pug part of the toy group? Yes, indeedy, but while this year’s pug was a charmer, I wasn’t taken with the total package.

Non-Sporting was up next, a grab bag of dogs leftover from the other six groups. The second I saw the Dalmatian I sensed he’d be the winner. The dog was stunning with crisp black spots against a snowy base coat. He was showing his heart out so I was thrilled when he won.

The last group of the night were the Herders. My first dog–at age five–was a German Shepherd so I love this breed that boasts some of the smartest dogs around. I always root for the GS, but this year’s dog, Captain Crunch (I even love the name), was a favorite to win and he didn’t disappoint.

Now I’m stuck with a dilemma of which one to root for tonight for Best in Show. And there are still three more groups to decide–Working, Sporting, and Terrier. Stop by tomorrow for my decision and to see if I chose correctly.

UPDATE: I didn’t choose a pooch for the Sporting Group. None jumped out at me, although I liked the winner, an Irish setter. I chose the Scottie for the Terrier Group, but it didn’t make the cut. The Kerry blue won. For the Working Group, I loved the Newfoundland, but I went with the Doberman and it won the breed. So for the seven groups, I picked four correctly, not too shabby. For Best in Show, I thought the Doberman would take the silver bowl, but it when to the Peke. Pablo was very happy.

1 Comment

Filed under Pugs in the news

One response to “Westminster, Day One

  1. Joan

    Yes, i love dachshunds, but the German Shepherd was definitely my favorite. What a gorgeous dog!

Leave a Reply

