Mirroring Our Lifestyle

Another interesting article in this week’s New York Times, this one about feeding your dogs (and cats) organic, non-processed foods from scratch. As I mentioned in a previous post, one of my New Year’s resolutions is to eat less processed foods. A side benefit is that Pablo will be eating less as well. As Cesar Millan is quoted as saying in the article, “The dog has always been a mirror of the human style of life.”

So far, I have been keeping to my resolution and cooking more from scratch. This week I made a huge pot of vegetarian pea soup, chili made from organic beef, and oven-baked organic chicken thighs. Since I eat leftovers for lunch, I’m guaranteed at least two processed-food-free meals a day. (Breakfast is usually cereal or English muffins with cream cheese.) I also eat two to three servings of fresh fruit a day. My downfall is snacking on vegetable chips (baked) and occasional nibbles of dark chocolate, both processed. Sigh. Pablo has enjoyed all the meals, but that is hardly surprising.

Three of the dogs mentioned in the article are 12, 15, and 16 years old. Two cats are 25 years old. All the animals are thriving on their organic diets. The article points out that nutritional requirements have to be met exactly, and that animals fed a diet lacking in essential nutrients could be harmed. I don’t know if I’m up to grinding raw chicken necks, livers, cabbage, cucumbers, carrots, berries, garlic, and parsley for Pablo. Also, I’d worry about the correct amount to feed him. Still, an organic diet is something to consider as Pablo approaches his tenth birthday. I shall have to investigate further.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

