Halfway Down

During this non-ending heatwave Miss Rita has taken to a new perch. She now spends a large part of her day sprawled exactly midway on the staircase.

View from above

This means anyone going up or down disturbs her highness. After one too many times of having to move to make way, Rita came up with a solution. She now leaves space for stair climbers. Pretty smart cat.

For those of you with a fondness for children’s lit, you might recognize this post’s title. It comes from a poem in When We Were Very Young by A. A. Milne:

Halfway down the stairs

Is a stair

Where I sit.

There isn’t any

Other stair

Quite like

It.

I’m not at the bottom.

I’m not at the top;

So this is the stair

Where

I always

Stop.

Halfway up the stairs

Isn’t up,

And isn’t down.

It isn’t in the nursery,

It isn’t in the town.

And all sorts of funny thoughts

Run round my head:

“It isn’t really

Anywhere!

It’s somewhere else

Instead!”

1 Comment

Filed under Other critters

One response to “Halfway Down

  1. One of my favorite Milne poems. I still remember the stair I used to sit on in the old house and that mom used to quote the poem whenever she saw me there. (Although technically it wasn’t halfway down)

Leave a Reply

